Kentucky Senate Approves Inclusive Legislation on Marriage Between Same-Sex Couples

By Adam Polaski • April 1, 2016 • 4:57 pm
On Friday, April 1, Senators in Kentucky unanimously approved a bill that will reiterate that only a single marriage license form – the same for same-sex couples and different-sex couples – is necessary. The news today is significant because just a few weeks ago, the same lawmakers approved Senate Bill 5, which sought to create separate marriage license forms for same-sex couples.
This positive step forward for Kentucky – which has already been approved unanimously by the House of Representatives – is expected to be signed into law by Republican Governor Matt Bevin. The move is supported by the County Clerks Association, the Fairness Campaign, the ACLU of Kentucky and, notably, Rowan County Clerk Kim Davis, who infamously defied the U.S. Supreme Court’s ruling on the freedom to marry last summer.
The House Judiciary Committee and full House voted unanimously to adopt Senator McGarvey’s single marriage license form, which had also garnered the support of the County Clerks Association, Fairness Campaign, ACLU-KY, and Rowan County Clerk Kim Davis.
Fairness Campaign Director Chris Hartman said today:
“This is a great day for our commonwealth. By working in a bi-partisan way with all affected communities, we were able to find a common sense solution that treats everyone with dignity and fairness.”
Kentucky legislators are also considering a broad, anti-LGBT bill that would allow individuals and businesses to cite their religious beliefs as an excuse for discriminating against LGBT people. Lawmakers should follow their own lead by rejecting SB180 and standing strong against anti-LGBT discrimination.

[fbcomments url=""]